Welcome to the Backyard Farmer!

Randy Durham

Administrator
Staff member
Patron
Hi folks. With a new year comes a new venture, one I've been looking forward to for a long time. Our vision is 2020 (pun intended) as we start this year and this new website. Thebackyardfarmer.com is a website that will be dedicated to sharing what we know about growing our food and sustainability, and discovering what we don't know from local experts and from you our audience and fellow farmers. In addition to these member forums we will be hosting articles from experts and producing video segments on everything from planning a garden, growing vegetables, canning and preserving food, raising chickens, raising quail, hydroponics, aquaponics, beekeeping and more!

Professionally, I am a video producer and storyteller. I've been blessed to make a living at this for over 40 years and to travel to over 30 countries. My yearly passion in addition to fishing and spending time with family has been growing things. We've had a garden each year that my wife and I have been married and I have wonderful memories (now) of working our family garden when I was a child. In addition to growing and preserving a lot of our own food, a few years ago we added chickens and fresh eggs to our backyard "farm". And in 2019 I began a new journey of learning how to keep bees. There is so much to learn but I am an inquisitive guy and if you are too then perhaps we can learn to grow together.